Midwinter song.

White clouds travel ahead of me,
rising into the sky above.
Dissolving and ascending.
The beat slows, the breath stills.
I recede into the darkness,
far into myself.
Feathers darker, fur thicker;
soft down, down soft.
Layers upon layers holding me close,
protecting me from the sting.
The ground underfoot is fast asleep.
Dark corners of the cave whisper quietly,
“come closer, come in.”
Fold inward, dive in, slip in, hide within.

One thought on “Midwinter song.

  1. Best bit is the reflecting mirrorline of “soft down, down soft.”
    My personal favourite’s the “Dark corners of the cave whisper quietly”.
    There’s a sibilant beckoning here. I don’t know what’s in the box, but the sound of the wrapping paper’s seduction enough.

Leave a Reply

