Dear Anne.

Dear Anne Hathaway,

It pains me to write this but I have some things on my chest, some things that I think you should know.

My first experience with you was as a bright-eyed, brunette beauty in some bubble-gun films (Princess Diaries, Ella Enchanted – exposure by college roommates). Now, I’ve nothing against bubble-gum films or the people who enjoy them but they certainly are not my cup of tea. Yet you, somehow had a certain quality to you that was extremely lovable and memorable. I suppose what really turned me onto you was your portrayal of the ‘everygirl’-college-grad-writer in “The Devil Wears Prada.” I was impressed how you held your own with Meryl and managed to deliver a consistent and charming performance. Balancing a performance against that of Meryl Streep (who did manage to get nominated…again) is no easy undertaking and you should be proud.

While “Devil” was a whimsical, delightful film, it was your work in “Rachel Getting Married” that really impressed me. The film had mixed reviews but for me, it was amazing with some impressive performances, including yours. Your dedication to the role and emotional vulnerability proved that you were more than just a lovable, beautiful, charming actress; you now offered a certain substance that is hard to attain in our field. I was inspired by your journey through the industry that landed you in “Rachel Getting Married.” Anne Hathaway you gave me hope.

And as quickly as you handed it to me, you tore it away by appearing in movies like…”Valentine’s Day” and “Alice in Wonderland.” But what really did it for me, what really pushed me over the edge…”One Day.” What I thought would be a cute, charming romantic comedy, turned out to be a demonstration of your lack of ability to execute dialect. Painful Anne, painful. I couldn’t even get through 10 minutes.

You also seemed to bounce back to this surface level depth….this…strange “acting” tendency that I can only attribute to your earlier journeys in Disney-esque films. Somewhere between “Rachel Getting Married” and “One Day”…you lost me. I also had hopes for “Love and Other Drugs,” which I still believe to be your strongest film since making “Rachel Getting Married,” yet there were still moments of surface level execution. I think the ability is there, I’m just so unsure why it is not accessed completely.

Also…for a brief moment…there’s something obnoxious about jumping on stage with Hugh Jackman for a musical number at the Oscars. Hugh does it because…well…he’s Hugh. He’s sexy and has done his time successful on stage and screen. Just because you sang to a bunch of giants in “Ella Enchanted” doesn’t mean this is acceptable in other circumstances. Unless you look like Hugh Jackman.

This cute persona does have its place, but I so desperately want to take you seriously. You could really be the complete package, if you so desired. You are beautiful and charismatic and intelligent…but you talent could be so much more than you have show us.

Now Anne, I have not completely given up, I’m only to the point of annoyance…there’s still a chance that a vulnerable, honest performance in one of your upcoming films could change the tides of our relationship. I’m not so sure how I feel about the upcoming Batman, but I cannot for the life of me think of a better fit for the feline anti-hero. I do think you opportunity will come with “Les Mis,” however, opposed to another production of this epic I may be…good performances can never be denied.

Please know Anne, this all comes from a place of love. A place of hope and fleeting admiration. Change your ways Anne, for your fans, the critics and mostly…for yourself.

Sincerely,

Me.

One thought on “Dear Anne.

  1. Instead of holding her trespasses against her, we’d rather have her hold that generous mouth against us. All over ‘n’ stuff. Yeah.
    Then again, she’s not the only pale “bright-eyed, brunette beauty” who acts that we adore. After all, we’re not reading her blog — we read yours.

Leave a Reply

