In my mind’s eye.

I saw you in my dreams last night.

Almost saw you, saw you and didn’t.

Saw you and not your form

… in my mind’s eye, says Hamlet.

I saw the traces of you around my psyche.

Saw you waiting in the wings

only it was I left to wait.

Pacing the carpeted floorboards and running my fingers through my hair.

It was I in the wings, and you taking the light,

carrying soft curls and laughter to share with the stars.

I steamed the mirrors of you bathroom and parted the curtain,

you lingered in my mind’s eye and rumbled in my belly.

I curled into your sheets but my companion was only pleasant conversation.

I saw you in my dreams last night.

You left me waiting.

4297df793fa778db04c9ec07e937fd23

One thought on “In my mind’s eye.

  1. There’s something Fiona Apple in this, a resemblance to “Slow Like Honey”, the languorous pull of desire unfulfilled, concurrently felt but not shared.

    “I curled into your sheets but my companion was only pleasant conversation.” That’s fucking gold.

Leave a Reply

