Collateral light.

1bada7a2563adfc4da97c14aa6b6e957

You lie asleep

under the frost of auburn stars.

Holding tight something

that was already yours.

I lie here

searching in the darkness

for my dignity.

It travels up.

A mad heat rushing up my arms,

tendrils of terror.

My brow furrows

and I instantly feel

the old maid and a young girl,

at once.

You sleep in a canopy of comfort and pleasure.

Your limbs locked

with fair skin,

just to your liking.

I feel the wind escape from my gut.

It takes my breath away

and wrings dry tears from my soft skull.

I shake the image,

I slam the set,

not to align the picture,

but to erase the pain.

The picture fades,

but the hurt,

it hums.

 

Leave a Reply

