It mustn’t/I must

71020ee5ae6f0d30e186250cb8674e59It mustn’t crush me, she thought. I must not let the weight of it drive me into the soil, make me small. I mustn’t look to the ground and see the looming shadow of its force. I mustn’t feed this brutal beast with my imagination or entice the pain of this poltergeist.

It mustn’t drown me, she thought. I must not let the terrible tide shatter me on the shore. I mustn’t look to the ground and see the waters rise. I mustn’t loose my breath to the fear or wade in the waters of this one-ness.

But along the edge of the shadow…is light. Even on the corner of the darkness resides the sun. And the land still holds me as the waters swell around my shins. I must continue to look for the cracks, to feel the earth and dig my heels into terra firm, into weightless breath and freedom.

 

Leave a Reply

